Mason Judicial Education Program

American College of Business Court Judges

In October 2005, a group of judges working with complex business cases founded the American College of Business Court Judges (ACBCJ). With the assistance of the Law & Economics Center at the George Mason University School of Law, the ACBCJ develops programs and seminars to equip business court judges from around the country with the knowledge and skills necessary to deal efficiently and professionally with the increasingly complex issues they confront.

The ACBCJ offers:

  • access to business court judges who have been instrumental in establishing and/or expanding the business courts in their states;
  • access to judges who have drafted and promulgated rules, procedures and forms for use in business courts;
  • access to business court judges with experience in presiding over complex commercial matters and with the functioning of business courts;
  • access to leaders in the American Bar Association Business Law Section who have spearheaded the business court movement and who regularly consult with and monitor the progress of business courts around the country;
  • access to top-notch educational programs geared toward facilitating the work of business courts.

We welcome your application for annual membership in the American College of Business Court Judges. To apply, please complete the application here, and mail to Judge Joseph Iannazzone (Treasurer) at the address on the form.


Current ACBCJ Officers

Office Term Name State
Immediate Past President 2013 Allen Goldberg IL
President 2013 Gail Adler CA
President-Elect 2013 Sean Wallace MD
Vice-President 2013 Stephen Schuster GA
Vice-President 2013 Christine Ward PA
Secretary 2013 Betsy Gonzalez NV
Treasurer 2013 Joseph Iannazzone GA
Director Seat A 2011-2013 Arnold New PA
Director Seat B 2011-2013 Jerry Abrams MN
Director Seat C 2011-2014 Stuart Berger MD
Director Seat D 2011-2014 Mary Johnston DE
Director Seat E 2013-2015 Clifton Newman SC
Director Seat F 2013-2015 Elihu M. Berle CA

ACBCJ Board Comprised of Past Presidents
                                Leonard B. Austin            
  Allen S. Goldberg  
  Donald F. Parsons, Jr.  
  Steven I. Platt  
  Ben F. Tennille  
  Ira Warshawsky