Board of Overseers

The Board of Overseers plays a crucial, active role in the work of the Searle Civil Justice Institute (SCJI). The Board identifies and supports topics for new research projects and provides constructive advice on existing research projects. Board Members help assure impartiality and autonomy of SCJI research. The Board also builds financial support for the SCJI and its mission, as appropriate. The Board is composed of a balanced group of leading academics, practitioners, and judges, with a wide breadth of legal, economic, business, and public policy expertise. 


Fern P. O’Brian (Chair) – Partner, Sedgwick LLP

Dan R. Brouillette – Senior Vice President, Government and Industry Relations, USAA

P. Brent Brown – Attorney, Brown & Jennings, PLC

Henry N. Butler – Dean & George Mason University Foundation Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law

Janet Langford Carrig – Senior Vice President, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary, ConocoPhillips

Matthew C. Carter  – Senior Associate General Counsel, Wal-Mart Stores, Inc.

David R. Donnersberger – Chair, Institutional Ethics Committee & Site Director, Third Year Medicine Clerkship, North Shore University Health System

Richard O. Faulk – Partner, Alexander Dubose Jefferson & Townsend LLP

The Honorable Douglas H. Ginsburg – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit (Senior Status) & Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law

Joseph Goldberg – Partner, Freedman Boyd Hollander Goldberg Ives & Duncan P.A.

Markus Green – Senior Corporate Counsel, Pfizer, Inc.

The Honorable Harris L Hartz – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

Thomas H. Hill – Associate General Counsel, Environmental Health and Safety, General Electric Co.

Jeffrey W. Jackson – Senior Vice President and General Counsel, State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company

Bruce H. Kobayashi – Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law

Geoffrey J. Lysaught – Senior Vice President and Group Director, Digital Public Affairs, Edelman

William B. Lytton – General Counsel, Tyco International (retired)

Paul K. Mancini – Senior Vice President & Associate General Counsel, AT&T (retired)

Alan B. Morrison – Lerner Family Associate Dean for Public Interest and Public Service Law, The George Washington University Law School

Judyth Pendell – Owner, Pendell Consulting

The Honorable William Ray Price Jr. – Partner, Armstrong Teasdale

Marsha Rabiteau – Executive Director, Legal Policy Strategies Group

Victor E. Schwartz – Partner, Shook, Hardy & Bacon LLP

The Honorable Gerald Bard Tjoflat – Judge, U.S. Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit