Law & Economics Center

LEC Economics Institute for Law Professors

Event Date: Sunday, June 15 to Friday, June 27, 2014

Location: Sheraton Steamboat Resort 2200 Village Inn Court, Steamboat Springs, CO 80477

Full Event Website

Prerequisite:  The Economics Institute is carefully designed for those who possess little or no previous formal economics education. It covers basic price theory, with emphasis on the allocative effects of alternative property rights regimes, transaction cost economics, and the application of basic economic theory to a variety of legal issues.  As such, there is no prerequisite for this Institute. 

Program Description:  The goal of the Economics Institute for Law Professors is to help participants enhance their understanding of economics and broaden their analytical tools in order to introduce greater economic sophistication and policy relevance to their professional work. More than 640 law professors worldwide have attended the LEC’s Economics Institutes. Alumni routinely credit the Institute with providing creative insights into research and teaching, and with facilitating collegial associations. Enrollment is limited to 30 professors.

Lecturers for this Institute include:

  • Terry L. Anderson, Executive Director, Property and Environment Research Center (PERC), Senior Fellow, Hoover Institution, Stanford University
  • Michael R. Baye, Bert Elwert Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy, Kelley School of Business, Indiana University
  • Henry N. Butler, George Mason University Foundation Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law, and Executive Director, Law & Economics Center
  • Robert D. Cooter, Herman F. Selvin Professor of Law and Co-Director, Law and Economics Program, University of California, Berkeley School of Law
  • Eric A. Helland, Robert J. Lowe Professor of Economics, Claremont McKenna College
  • Scott E. Masten, Professor of Business Economics and Public Policy, Ross School of Business, University of Michigan
  • Joanna Shepherd, Associate Professor of Law, Emory University School of Law
  • Joshua D. Wright, Professor of Law (on leave), George Mason University School of Law; Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission
  • Kathryn M. Zeiler, Professor of Law, Georgetown University Law Center             
  • Todd J. Zywicki, Foundation Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law


Terms and Conditions:  Refundable Deposit:  For this workshop, accepted applicants must make a $500 deposit bonding their attendance within 30 days of acceptance.  For each workshop, the deposit is refunded within 30 days after successful completion of the workshop.

Due to the nature of our funding, we can only accept applications from the United States and Canada.



For More Information, Contact: Jeff Smith
Coordinator, Henry G. Manne Programs


© 2014 Law & Economics Center All Rights Reserved.